T H E F R O N T I E R

a charlotte street 15 year anniversary project considering the history and future of artist-driven pioneering in Kansas City and the changing nature of the city's "frontiers"

Power and Light – Ahram Park

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Even though the Power and Light District is in the heart of downtown Kansas City, it has remained a foreign place to me. So when Mike Sinclair asked a group of us to photograph P&L, it challenged me to view it in an often unseen way. I started walking the outskirts of P&L one evening and eventually found myself climbing to the roof of a parking garage that overlooked the city. It was there that I found the silhouetted PBR Big Sky bar sign keeping watch of the city. I quickly photographed the view as the sun was low. I realized later that on the opposing horizon line of the photograph stands a statue of a Sioux Indian, “Scout,” who looks upon downtown Kansas City. Though set almost hundred years apart, the placement of these landmarks signifies, in a small way, the ever changing relationship between the social and physical frontier of this city.

– Ahram Park

All photos by Ahram Park.

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on March 27, 2012 by in Artists & artworks, Downtown KC, Phase I Projects, Photographs, Power and Light.